Catechesis of the Good Shepherd is a religious formation method for children based on the educational philosophies of Maria Montessori.  It was developed in Rome, Italy in 1954 by Sofia Cavaletti (a Hebrew Scripture scholar) and Gianna Gobbi (a former assistant to Maria Montessori).  Children experience Catechesis of the Good Shepherd in an atrium, a sacred space where work and study spontaneously become contemplation and prayer.  In the atrium, children are exposed to hands-on catechetical learning materials.  Catechesis of the Good Shepherd has spread worldwide and was adopted in 2009 by the Missionaries of Charity, Mother Teresa's order. 

Catechesis of the Good Shepherd consists of three levels:  

  • Level I (grades Pre3-K) 

  • Level II (grades 1-3) 

  • Level III (grades 4-6)

Epiphany Catholic School adopted Catechesis of the Good Shepherd beginning in the 2015-16 school year.  We will be implementing Level I initially, with Levels II and III to follow.  We look forward to helping our school children fall in love with Jesus and fostering their relationships with God.  What a blessing!

Please contact Jennifer Havens if you have any questions. 

CGS Documents

CGS Links